Pushing Backwards

So it’s been a while. Life won out over art, and as in so many things, when work and stress and fatigue combine, creativity withers. But it’s been a hot summer, and the time for relaxing in the sun has reinvigorated me. Finally, I’m writing again, and it feels great! I can focus on unfinished projects, editing, and cover design; all of which I haven’t been able to think about in months. Now, with a delicious cocktail and gazing out at the sunshine on the thirsty leaves in our garden, I’m digging in.

My focus these days is the past. It’s been my pet project for some time, and finally I am making measurable progress on it. The final goal: a collection of erotic short stories focusing on women in the ancient world. Historical fiction has always been a favorite genre of mine, and I love researching and writing it. When you reach so far back in time, history becomes muddled with myth and speculation, which is perfect for us novelists. My inspiration comes from art, recent archaeological discoveries, legends and religion, all of which are surrounded by more mysteries than answers. The subject matter is rich, and I find myself succumbing to the romance of creating a world so far in the past it is half reality, half fantasy. As usual, of course, there is love, lust, and everything in between; no matter how long ago they lived, people remain human. That’s the fascination of it.

The first of the short stories will be published late this month, if all goes well. This summer heat makes me think of the desert, and how a remarkable woman might have lived and loved there so many thousands of years ago… As her character came to life, I felt a growing affection for her. Like so many authors, I felt I became a part of her world. Now it’s time to share that place with others.

Leave a Reply

