The Story Behind The Story: Not So Square…

Inspiration for my stories comes from a lot of places. Some of them have roots in my own personal sexual fantasies, of course – and all of them become my sexual fantasy for a time, while I’m writing them (best way I know to get it out of your system! Always give in to cravings, before they consume you… works for chocolate, too.) – but there are many other sources of inspiration. Song lyrics; places I’ve visited; an interesting bus commute; a person glimpsed across the street; a historical tidbit; an event; a city. For writers, even a brief, flickering thought can be the seed that sprouts into a complete story.

This one began with an odd couple. I don’t know where they came from (although Laura is definitely inspired by my delightfully eccentric college roommate), but they appeared in my mind and wouldn’t leave me alone until their story was out on paper. As I wrote it, these characters surprised me. That’s the best kind – the ones who have life and personality of their own, beyond what I had originally imagined.NotSoSquareSMASH

Anyway, here’s the gist: Laura, a pink-haired rocker-style chick, all counterculture on the outside but actually rather tame in the bedroom. And her nerdy admirer, Boris. (I had to think of the least appealing Slavic name possible, and this is it! Sorry if your name really is Boris. Or Bertha, for that matter. You can always go by a nickname! Or embrace it; either way, do your thing, real-life Borises of the world!). Boris, naturally, is an accountant. (Once again, the least sexy, least counterculture, stuffiest job title I could think of…) He’s pretty much a square. Except, it turns out, when he isn’t. It all starts with one too many drinks at the company party, and – well, I’ll let Boris take it from there!

Let’s just say this accountant has more than one surprise up his sleeve (and in his boxers, too!)

Grab it at your favorite online retailer: Amazon, Smashwords, or All Romance eBooks

Leave a Reply

