Watt’s Up on Wattpad?

So… Wattpad. What’s up with that?

Well, my good friend SexScribbler let me know about it. (You have visited her website, haven’t you? If not, head over there now and take a peek!) Wattpad, basically, is a space where writers can ‘publish’ their work and offer it to readers for free. The real interesting bit is Wattpad encourages serialized writing, as you publish chapter-by-chapter as it is finished. (In the long tradition, I might add, of great novelists like Charles Dickens and Victor Hugo; those guys were paid by the word!) Readers can vote on their favorite parts, leave comments, and offer suggestions as the story develops. Cool, right?

The process reminds me of my much younger (and even nerdier) days, and an old platform called FanFic.net .  No idea if it’s still around. In any case, my writing is long gone, censored way back when they eliminated the NC-17 rating. (Hehehe, woops, I *might* not have been 17 when writing all those sexy fantasies… ah, well, too late now!) However, it offered a similar freedom of storytelling. Some people only uploaded finished stories, but many, like me, published them one chapter at a time. That’s how I got my first giddy taste of admiration from fans of my story… not to mention enjoyed some forays into my dirty high school imagination with Legolas the Elf. (Yeah. I was that girl…) In the here and now, Wattpad offers a similar experience connecting writers and readers – minus the fan fiction bit. (And the sexiness. Alas, Wattpad does not approve of “scenes merely for the purpose of titillation,” so I’ve had to censor my language somewhat…ahem. Never mind; when I publish it in real-book form all the smut shall return!)

major arcana coverMy current project is very much chapter based, as each chapter is linked to a certain card from the Tarot deck. In fact, I don’t know what the card will be until the moment I draw it – just like Rosemary, my lovely main character. So far there are two cute guys, hilarious siblings, big life decisions, and art. Lots of art. Also, it is the first story I’ve set in my hometown of Seattle, so that’s kind of fun.

Want to take a look? Well you’re in luck, because it’s free to read on Wattpad! Just click on the link and take a look! It’s not finished, but I promise it will be. 🙂 (And hey, if you’d like to leave a vote or two, go right ahead!)

Read “Major Arcana” on Wattpad!

Leave a Reply

